To Brighten a Winter’s Day

Both cards made were both inspired by the Color Hues #7 – Blue and Magenta Challenge and the Flower Challenge #51– Add Embellishments. I had so much fun making both cards because I got to use some new stamps that I got recently.

For my first card, I ink blended GKD Blue Denim on the top and magenta color from Craftsmart on the bottom. Next, I embossed MFT Floating Petals Background with Gold Embossing Powder. I die cut out the Birthday, and embossed the Happy onto the vellum. I taped the vellum on the back of the paper so it wouldn’t show through the vellum. Lastly, I attached a black cardstock to the back to give it a black border.

I’m not sure if Gold is considered as a third color or if it’s considered as a neutral for the Color Hue challenge. So, I decided to make a second card with Graciellie Design Start Anew Magnolias Digital Stamp.

I originally wanted to use watercolor on this, but for some reason the ink started to mix into my colors. I’m pretty new to digital stamps, so I’m assuming I have the wrong type of ink. I switched to colored pencils instead, and the sentiment is from Unity Stamp Co Words of Hope by Gracielle Design. I bordered the card and sentiment with blue cardstock and added some blue sequins from GKD.

I love the sentiment. You don’t have to give a gift to brighten someone’s day, a kind gesture would do.

Challenges entered for second card:

Colour Crazy Craft Challenge
Wk 49
Challenge #409

Thank you for stopping by and STAY SAFE!

8 thoughts on “To Brighten a Winter’s Day”

  1. What a beautiful card! Your colored pencil work is just fabulous! I love the narrow blue border and the perfectly placed sequins. Thanks for joining us at Color Hues!

    Like

  2. Both cards are absolutely gorgeous and welcome additions to our challenge! Use of gold or other neutrals is just fine. Glad it gave you an excuse to make two cards for our inspiration! Your pencil coloring is amazing, love those magnolias! The inking and embossing are so pretty too. Thanks so much for joining us at Color Hues!

    Like

  3. Two fabulous cards, love the gold embossing on the first one and the gorgeous pencil colouring on the second one too. Thanks for sharing with us over at ‘The Flower Challenge’ šŸ˜‰ Viv DT xx

    Like

  4. Navy blue and magenta look beautiful together! Love both takes on that color theme! The pencil coloring on the magnolias is fabulous! Thank you so much for playing along at The Flower Challenge!

    Like

  5. These are both so fantastic!! The first one is so beautifully blended and then the gold embossing! WOW! Then your second card is colored so well! I am just tickled to see both of these cards in our gallery at Color Hues!!

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started